Meet Razan Hashim: Sudanese Director and Filmmaker who puts ideas on a bigger picture

If you believe that the idea which you have for your film expresses how you feel, just put in the screen, Regardless of what people are expecting from you. If you feel it, put in a screen!

Razan Hashim is an Award Winning Charismatic Sudanese Film Director and Producer, a pharmacist, a Drama teacher and a cinema enthusiast. Razan had directed and produced a number of short movies and videos including Green Voice, Existence and School’s Road. Razan is currently pursuing her Master’s degree in culture media and society at Lancaster University. 

Words & Wins briefly interviewed Razan and here is how it went:

37565545_10214652110754686_5374507257130123264_o

Words & Wins: Razan, you are clearly a cinema and movie making enthusiast and professional. How did you also become a pharmacist?

Razan: Well, pharmacy was my choice but growing up I realized that my true passion was film making therefore I was advised by a friend to study media to broaden my horizon and experience the theoretical Part of this field.

Words & Wins: When did you realize that you want to be a filmmaker and when was your first experience with making films?

Razan: Few years after graduation from pharmaceutical studies I was still producing films but it was not as a profession, pharmacy was the profession I had so I can be able to fund my films financially and also with the help of friends because in Sudan it’s quite challenging to count on film making as a stand alone career. But then I realized that it would be satisfying to do the work that you love as a profession.

Words & Wins: Out of all the films that you have made, and you made amazing ones. Which film would you say is the closest to your heart and why?

Razan: School’s Road, it’s my first film and even though it was made with basic knowledge and experience, it showed me that I should continue making films after the success that it exhibited.

28279680_10213461447868858_951157347198487424_n
Watch School’s Road here

Words & Wins: The cinema and film making industry in many parts of the world is predominantly male, How is the scene for women in Cinema in Sudan?

Razan: It’s interesting because in Sudan there are many successful female filmmakers and I assume that it’s because women in Sudan have many issues that need to be discussed and expressed, therefore I am optimistic that women in Sudan who are involved in this industry will leave a great impact on Sudanese and international film theaters.

I wouldn’t say it was not challenging but I think I was lucky enough to have friends who support you during your journey and especially when you are at the process of making films despite the struggles that we face.

Words & Wins: What message do you try to bring through your artwork?

Razan: My films are characters that go deeper into our subconscious, I try to express complex human thoughts like nostalgia, fears, love, forgiveness and dreams in simple direct and indirect ways as I am fascinated by drama and psychodrama films.

27972957_10213461446908834_6460318299941878265_n
Watch Existence Here

Words & Wins: What can you advice young girls who are looking to be involved in film making in Sudan?

Razan: I would advice them not to give up, not to give up and not to give up again. You can imagine all the obstacles filmmakers are facing in Sudan whether it’s from the society, the system, audience opinion or even the lack of financial resources. All these factors should not stop you from making films.

And I also would like to advice you that if you believe that the idea which you have for your film  expresses how you feel, just put in the screen, regardless of what people are expecting from you. If you feel it, put in a screen!

Words & Wins: Can you tell us about some of the movie participation and awards you had received?

Razan: School’s Road and Existence participated within Sudan in both Tiharqa international festival and Sudan independent film festival. Internationally both movies participated in Mashariki African Film Festival in Rwanda, Nouakchott Film Festival in Mauritania as well as Alexandria Film Festival in Egypt. 

Some awards received for those movies include Tiharqa International Award for cinema and arts as the best director (School’s Road), Tiharqa International Award for cinema and art as the best actress for reel matar (School’s Road). The film “Existence” also received awards of Best actress and Best film by audience choice at Tiharqa Film Festival. Green Voice participated in Sudan Independent Film Festival. 

14212750_888208114657577_3454285920005752478_n

Words & Wins:  Razan, What keeps you motivated and inspired?

Razan: Passion for cinema and the strong power of the idea of expressing your self via camera is what makes me enthusiastic about producing films. There are also friends and family encouraging me to pursue my dreams.

Words & Wins:  What are your plans in the near future? Are we looking at a new film soon?

Razan: I have done writing my first long feature film, right now it’s at the stage of developing the script and seeking suitable producers.

Razan, we look forward to follow more of your journey in the cinema and film making industry in Sudan. Be sure to follow more of Razan’s work and what she is up to on her Facebook page. 

 

Leave a comment